Enabling leaders in palliative and end-of-life care

Professor Phil Larkin and Professor Raymond Voltz on behalf of the European Association for Palliative Care (EAPC) and The European Academy in Palliative Care (EUPCA) announce the ‘Award for Palliative Care Leadership Programmes 2019’.

EUPCA coordinator, Dr Gerrit Frerich, explains what it takes to be a winner …

Clockwise: Gerrit Frerich, Raymond Voltz (EUPCA) and Phil Larkin (president, EAPC)

Palliative Care has received considerable socio-political support due to the expected epidemiological developments in societies worldwide: the population ages, the pattern of diseases that people suffer from and die of is also changing. Increasingly, more people die as a result of serious chronic disease, and older people in particular are more likely to suffer from multi-organ failure towards the end of life.

In recent years, there has been a considerable growth of specialist palliative care educational opportunities, with increasing numbers of specialists. Leadership knowledge and skills are crucial in order to achieve successful change, or to advance in complex systems and uncertain situations.

Future leaders are palliative care professionals who will effect positive change not only in their country by engaging in advancing and improving the provision of palliative care but also worldwide by networking and learning from international examples of best practice. We recognise the importance of educational programmes and their role in training and inspiring these future leaders to be the pioneers needed for the development of palliative care. Therefore, we are delighted to announce the ‘Award for Palliative Care Leadership Programmes 2019’ to reward those programmes already doing this important work and to encourage others to follow suit. The award is presented jointly by the European Academy of Palliative Care (EUPCA) and the European Association for Palliative Care (EAPC).

What defines a successful leadership programme?

  • We are looking for evidence of leadership capacity building programmes worldwide that are striving to develop palliative care at a time when it is needed most.
  • These initiatives could take place in your hospice, hospital or other palliative care institution – anywhere in the world.

An independent jury of internationally renowned experts from the EAPC and EUPCA will select the winner. The award winner will be announced at an award ceremony that will take place during the 16th World Congress of the European Association for Palliative Care in Berlin 2019. A representative of the winning institution will receive registration, accommodation and travel costs to attend the three-day conference and the ceremony.

Presentation of EUPCA Leadership Award at the 16th World Congress of the European Association for Palliative Care 2017.

Leadership Award Winners in 2017

The first leadership award was presented at the 15th World Congress of the European Association for Palliative Care in Madrid 2017 and was shared by two winners.

Julia Downing, Professor and Honorary Research Fellow at King’s College London: for the Uganda Palliative Care Nurse Leadership Fellowship Programme. Nurses play a key role in the provision of palliative care in Uganda and needs assessments have shown a need for the development of nurse leadership skills.

Leena Pelttari, CEO of the Hospice Association Austria:  for the interdisciplinary educational programme Master of Science in Palliative Care in Austria.The main aim of this programme is not only to qualify health and social care professionals in palliative care, management and leadership but also to develop new institutions and improve existing structures.

If you think your institution fulfils the criteria, and you wish to be considered for this exciting award, then we would love to receive your application.

More about EUPCA …

The European Palliative Care Academy is a joint project of the University Hospital of Cologne/ Germany, King’s College London/ United Kingdom, Nicolaus Copernicus University in Torun/ Poland and Hospice Casa Sperantei in Brasov/ Romania. It is financed by the Robert Bosch Stiftung/ Germany. Since 2012, we have run the EUPCA leadership course every two years enabling 59 excellent Palliative Care experts from 22 Eastern and Western European countries to achieve successful change and to advance Palliative Care by implementing personal projects in their region. Please visit www.eupca.eu for further information concerning the course and its impact.

EUPCA works in collaboration with the EAPC.


  • To find out more about the award, the requirements and to apply, please visit our website.

Deadline for applications: 4 November 2018.

  • You can read more posts from The European Academy in Palliative Care on the EAPC Blog

Find out more about the 16th EAPC World Congress in Berlin here. Online abstract submission is now open – submit your abstract here.


This entry was posted in EAPC COLLABORATIVE PROJECTS, European Palliative Care Academy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.