Making positive change in palliative care: EUPCA/EAPC launches Leadership Award

Gerrit Frerich and Heather Graham from the European Academy of Palliative Care Coordinating Office explain the importance of a new leadership award on behalf of the European Academy of Palliative Care in collaboration with the European Association for Palliative Care.

Gerrit Frerich and Heather Graham

Gerrit Frerich and Heather Graham

Palliative care is a relatively new but quickly expanding area in health care. As the population ages, the pattern of diseases that people suffer and die from is also changing. Palliative care needs change and advancement to meet the current population needs. Although palliative care has come a long way over the years, we are not there yet and many countries still lack any end-of-life care services. As Dr Amandua Jacinto said at the 5th International African Palliative Care Conference:

Palliative care must be as available as air.”

In order to achieve this goal, we need leaders. These leaders are palliative care professionals who will effect positive change, not only in their country by engaging in advancing and improving the provision of palliative care but also worldwide by networking and learning from international examples of best practice. We recognise the importance of educational programmes and their role in training and inspiring these future leaders to be the pioneers needed for the development of palliative care. Therefore, we are delighted to announce a new award, the ‘Award for Palliative Care Leadership Programmes’ to reward those programmes already doing this important work and to encourage others to follow suit.

The award has been developed by the European Academy of Palliative Care (EUPCA) in collaboration with the European Association for Palliative Care (EAPC). We are looking for evidence of leadership capacity-building programmes worldwide that are striving to develop palliative care at a time when it is needed most. These initiatives could take place in your hospice, hospital or other palliative care institution. An independent jury of internationally renowned experts from the EAPC and EUPCA will select the winner. The award winner will be announced at an award ceremony that will take place during the 15th World Congress of the European Association for Palliative Care in Madrid 2017. A representative of the winning institution will receive registration, accommodation and travel costs to attend the three-day conference and the ceremony. If you think your institution fulfils the criteria and you wish to be considered for this exciting award then we would love to receive your application.

The European Academy of Palliative Care is a joint project of Robert Bosch Stiftung Germany and the four academic centres: University Clinic of Cologne, Germany; Nicolaus Copernicus University, Poland; Hospice Casa Sperantei, Romania and King’s College London. EUPCA works in collaboration with the  EAPC.

For more information about the award, the requirements and to apply, please visit our website. The closing date for applications is 15 November 2016. For any questions please email us. (

You can read more posts about previous EUPCA Leadership courses on the EAPC Blog.

This entry was posted in EAPC COLLABORATIVE PROJECTS, EDUCATION & TRAINING, European Palliative Care Academy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.