EAPC Early Researcher Award: Does it change your career?

Professor Dr Joachim Cohen, Senior Researcher of the End-of-Life Care Research Group, Ghent University and Vrije Universiteit Brussel, and postdoctoral fellow of the Research Foundation – Flanders, Belgium, explains what winning the EAPC Early Researcher Award has meant to his career.

Professor Joachim Cohen

Professor Joachim Cohen

Winning the EAPC Early Researcher Award has increased my international visibility and has facilitated international research collaborations. Giving the plenary award lecture, which meant 25 minutes to present my research results to a large audience of peers, was also a unique opportunity and experience.

Why me?
I won the Award at the 6th EAPC Research Congress in Glasgow in 2010. Although I had quite a number of international publications at that time, I did not expect to win the award as I reckoned it to be particularly oriented towards researchers with some kind of clinical focus. As a social scientist my focus on palliative care was primarily from a public health and thanatological perspective. However, what also convinced the panel of my engagement with palliative care practice was the fact that I had put a great deal of effort into linking my research results towards actual practice. I think that the most convincing argument in granting me the award was that I had done several cross-national European studies on end-of-life issues. Evidently, pan-European studies are of great interest to the EAPC.

Did the award affect my career?
Although it is hard to tell the influence of an award on someone’s career I perceive there to be a definite influence. One result is an increased peer recognition and esteem, particularly as I was given the opportunity to present my research findings in a plenary session of the EAPC research conference. Apart from it being great fun, it also gave me the opportunity to talk about an International Place of Death study that I was planning to conduct. The announcement of this study during my award lecture led to a number of additional countries participating to the study. As a result we now have population data about the place of death in 14 countries, from four continents. I am looking forward to the results of this study and hope to present them at one of the next EAPC conferences. After winning the award I was also invited to become a member of the scientific committee of the 13th EAPC World Congress in Prague in 2013. It has so far been a great experience to experience the scientific organisation of the EAPC conference from close by.

Since winning the award I have become more convinced of the value of international comparative public health-oriented research and have continued to develop research ideas in this direction.

To find out more…

  • Click here for details of the 2013 Early Researcher Award
  • Submit your application online by 5pm, 30 November, 2012
  • Click here to read reports from this year’s ERA winners.

The EAPC is looking forward to your nomination!

Coming up in the European Journal of Palliative Care
You can read contributions from former award winners of the EAPC Early Research Award, in a future issue of the European Journal of Palliative Care (EJPC). If you already have a web-based subscription to the EJPC you will be able to download and print this issue plus all articles in the EJPC archive.

Members of the EAPC receive discounted subscription rates to the EJPC – click here to find out more and subscribe online.

 

This entry was posted in EAPC Congresses, EAPC Researcher Awards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

